top of page
  • Writer's pictureFalicyaC

Embrace The Awkward

Updated: May 16, 2018

Being in a Master of Arts program one would automatically think that workshops come with the package. Yes that is true but only in the form of a classroom setting where you are required to write a certain number of pages on assigned topics. Now do not get me wrong I love the workshops in my classes but I always feel that those are scripted in a way. That is why I am saying Yes to workshops outside of the academic setting. I came to this thought due to friends of mind saying hey guys we are on summer vacation why not write and do are own workshop. I was automatically scared by this idea because I though what do we a couple of students know about running a workshop? we know a hell of a lot more than I thought we did! We know how to support one another and we know how to allow creativity to flow and all topics and genres to be placed in ink in front of us without any question or restrictions. creating a workshop outside of the classroom setting has allowed me to get out of my comfort zone and write for me, write to a wide audience and don't be afraid of readers to read my work and make comments. This post is for those writers out there who are afraid to get involved in a group that marks up each others works, DO IT, and do it with a smile on your face. Coming from someone who was afraid of opening up and putting their writing out there, it has allowed me to think of myself as a writer, a reviewer, and a editor.


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page